2019.07.21 / 1440.11.17

Commemorating The Victims Of The Easter Sunday Attacks – 21st April 2019

21st of April, marks one of the darkest days in the history of our Motherland and today we commemorate the innocent lives that were lost in the Easter Sunday Attacks.

The ACJU, on behalf of the Muslim Civil Societies and the Muslim Community, reiterate our strong condemnation of the atrocious crime against humanity, carried out by terrorists. There is no place in Islam or in any religion for any form of extremism or terrorism.

The Muslims of Sri Lanka have been living harmoniously with all other communities of this country for more than 1000 years. It is evident throughout history that the Muslim community stands together with all Sri Lankans at all times, and works towards strengthening peace and harmony of this nation.

Unfortunately many evil elements have been targeting the Muslim community for various malicious agendas and have been creating confusion and doubt among the other communities about the Muslims.

We Sri Lankans should unitedly defeat such conspiracies that divide and create disharmony within communities, by promoting and supporting all efforts that are made towards building peaceful coexistence among communities.

To restore understanding between the communities, ACJU pledges to build Harmony centers, libraries in mosques, schools and associations. To prevent the religious space from being misused and abused, ACJU recognizes the paramount importance of working with government and other faith leaders to regulate the religious space and build moderation, toleration and coexistence.

The ACJU is prepared to provide any necessary support in relation to religious counseling and guidance to the Youth who are currently in custody. And we have also been working on efforts among the community in providing the correct interpretations and teachings of Islam.

The ACJU has also initiated a ‘National Network Project (NNP)’, with the objective of establishing and strengthening the reconciliation and coexistence among all the communities.

We request all to pray for those effected and their families, and to pray for a peaceful Sri Lanka.


Mufti M.I.M. Rizwe

President – ACJU 




2019.07.13 / 1440.11.09

The ACJU Central Committee Meeting for the Selection of the New Executive Committee was commenced at 10.00 am on the 13th of July 2019, at the Dehiwala Muhiyiddeen Grand Jumu’ah Masjid.

The proceedings commenced with the recital of Quirath by Ash Shaikh Qari Firdous. Following the recitation, the Welcome Speech was presented by Ash Shaikh M.L.M. Ilyas. The current General Secretary Ash Shaikh M.M.A. Mubarak submitted a Report on the Activities of ACJU during the last three years. Ash Shaikh A.L.M. Khaleel, current Treasurer of ACJU presented the Financial Report of the last 3 years. Finally the current President Mufti M.I.M. Rizwe presented his special address, following which the existing Executive Committee was dissolved.  

As per the constitution of the ACJU, a ‘Selection’ of the Executive Committee Members should be conducted once in three years.

During the above ‘Selection’ process, Ash Shaikh A.L.M. Rilah Magdoomi was appointed as the ‘Acting President’ on behalf of the Executive Committee. Ash Shaikh Hashim Soori, Ash Shaikh J.M. Ashraf (Naleemi) Attorney at Law, were appointed as Assistants to the Acting President in overlooking the ‘Selection’ process.

The Central Committee which consists of the Presidents, Secretaries & Treasurers of the 24 ACJU District Branches and the Members of the two previous Executive Committees, which is a total of 101 members, were invited to participate in a ‘secret voting process’ and the following Members were selected as the New Executive Committee of ACJU. The respective Office Bearers were also selected via a ‘secret voting process’.


Honorary President - Ash-Shaikh Mufti M.I.M. Rizwe          

Honorary Deputy President - Ash-Shaikh A.C.M. Agar Mohamed                

Honorary General Secretary - Ash-Shaikh M.M.A. Mubarak                           

Honorary Treasurer - Ash-Shaikh A.L.M. Khaleel                                 

Honorary Vice Presidents

  • Ash-Shaikh H. Omardeen
  • Ash-Shaikh A.L.M. Rila
  • Ash-Shaikh M.J. Abdul Khaliq
  • Ash-Shaikh A.L.M. Hashim
  • Ash-Shaikh S.H. Atham Bawa

Honorary Assistant Secretaries

  • Ash-Shaikh M.M.M. Murshid
  • Ash-Shaikh M.S.M. Thassim

Honorary Assistant Treasurer

  • Ash Shaikh A.M.M. Anas

Honorary Executive Committee Members

  • Ash-Shaikh M.L.M. llyas
  • Ash-Shaikh M.F.M. Fazil
  • Ash-Shaikh K.M. Muksith
  • Ash Shaikh Arqam Nooramith
  • Ash Shaikh Hassan Fareed
  • Ash Shaikh M.H.M. Yoosuf
  • Ash Shaikh A.C.M. Fazil
  • Ash-Shaikh S.L. Nawfer
  • Ash-Shaikh M.K. AbdurRahman
  • Ash-Shaikh S.A.M. Jawfar
  • Ash-Shaikh Abdullah Mahmood
  • Ash Shaikh A.R. AbdurRahman     
  • Ash Shaikh M.H.M. Burhan

May Almighty Allah Swt Accept All Our Good Deeds, Aameen!


Ash Shaikh M.M.A. Mubarak

General Secretary - ACJU